Tuesday, 20 May 2014

Dandelion Clocks

Dandelion Clocks by Rebecca Westcott
Paperback, 272 pages

Published 6th March 2014 by Puffin UK

Shelves: 
arc-or-review, better-than-expected, books-i-own, death, medical-conditions, read-in-2014, realistic-fiction, to-read, young-adult
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Description via Goodreads:

Dandelion Clocks by Rebecca Westcott Smith will be loved by fans of Jacqueline Wilson, Cathy Cassidy or Annabel Pitcher. Liv takes us on a journey through her life from "Thirteen Weeks Before" to "Six Months After". We discover Liv's passion for photography, her brother's obsession with sticking to the rules, the stupidity of Moronic Louise at school, and how the family copes as Mum's terminal illness takes hold...Guided by Mum's own childhood diaries, Liv finds a new way to live. This book is real, funny, utterly touching and absolutely heartwarming. Despite the sadness at the heart of the story, every reader will laugh and keep on turning the pages, charmed by Liv and her mum. 


When I was asked whether or not I would like to review Dandelion Clocks, I jumped at the chance. There seems to be a flood of recent YA books tackling the tough subject that is cancer, and this book is another of those. Thankfully, I think that Dandelion Clocks does add something new to this market, and it's something that's definitely worth checking out, especially for those on the 'younger' side of the young adult genre.

Dandelion Clocks is a book that is said to appeal to fans of authors such as Jacqueline Wilson, Cathy Cassidy or Annabel Pitcher. With this suggestion, you'd assume that it's a book written specifically for middle grade children, and I can easily say that yes it is, but it I would certainly not hesitate to recommend this book to any older teen or even to any adult. I was very pleasantly surprised with the complexity that this book had, the author has proven to have such a wonderful ability of reaching across to different age groups. Though the content matter is treated so carefully that it's accessible, older readers should also appreciate many of the hidden complexities, including the relationships, in this book.

As aforementioned, this is a book that includes many more issues than the main one of cancer. Our very realistic and likeable protagonist, Liv, deals with multiple issues in this book and I commend Westcott for managing to handle them all so well, with a great sense of care and authenticity.  In this novel, another focus is on Liv's brother who has Asperger's Syndrome - this was also fascinating to read about because it taught me about the effect of Asperger's on daily life and it was fantastic to see how Liv helped her brother to try understand some things that those with Aspergers find challenging - in fact, I'd say that this issue is probably rightly explored with the same amount of focus and poignancy as the cancer storyline.

What stood out to me most with this book is that it's a real coming of age story for Liv. I enjoyed seeing her subtly mature in accordance with the things around her. I liked seeing how she dealt with everyday issues, such as friendships at school. Most of all I found it interesting to see how her experience shaped her and had an effect on her and helped on the way to forming her identity and maturity. For her age, Liv seemed very mature for her age and that is another reason why I believe the older YA fans will like this book.

Overall, I was very pleasantly surprised by this Dandelion Clocks - I didn't expect to love it as much as I did (for age reasons). I would have never guessed that this was Westcott's debut novel because quite simply, it is written with such a lot of care and talent. If you like the sound of the blurb/synopsis of this book, don't hesitate in picking it up, whoever you are - I am positive that you'll enjoy it. Rebecca Westcott is definitely an author to watch, and I'll definitely pick up her next offering!

30 comments:

  1. Oh this one sounds sweet!! I want to read it now. I love that it's aimed more toward MG, I kind of love how MG authors handle the issues you mention - they have a different approach than YA or NA authors, I find.

    Thanks for putting this book on my radar.

    ReplyDelete
  2. There are actually numerous libraries in a trendy forms of the Omega Replica are bringing out with that brand name in which it confirm alone as a superior watchmaking company ever. This brand name caters require the Rolex Replica all kinds of age group by causing the separate collection for these people. IWC even offers the very particular libraries to the pilots from some time. The IWC renders the very good quality of pieces who have added an excellent movement within the http://lombardscotchwhisky.com/music.htm generating industrial sectors. Somebody by causing a priceless purchase to the IWC Wrist watches can savor the purchase to the while time. The complete making in the Replica Watches are make in way that they may easily be pleasing to your face.

    ReplyDelete
  3. thanks for this post, keep it up for updating us, i am waiting for ur new article.

    thanks again
    IPL8 live stream 2015

    ReplyDelete
  4. cheap ray ban sunglasses uk you two, with my ray ban sunglasses cheap uk back to the police station trip. Police said on cheap and cheap. Well, I go with cheap ray ban sunglasses uk you. cheap pulled a cheap cheap ray bans uk hand said. Thirteen Street police station interrogation room, two police cheap ray ban sunglasses uk interrogation with not honest thief, thief while you want to smoke, cheap ray ban sunglasses uk while going to the toile.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Obat herbal keputihan Oh may god.. This is a very nice article sir.. I'm Very like it, same like a Obat miom dan kista

    ReplyDelete
  6. I think this article is quite interesting, especially you as the author of this blog is quite talented.. Same like a Obat herbal untuk tumor jinak di payudara and Obat radang tenggorokan untuk ibu hamil

    ReplyDelete
  7. Obat kanker rahim was impressed with this article.. Thank you for interesting information like this sir.. Obat herbal keputihan Obat diabetes melitus Obat kelenjar getah bening

    ReplyDelete
  8. We need your financial support and your commitment to Obat Parkinson Tradisional

    ReplyDelete
  9. Volunteers started bringing an assortment of donations Obat Hipertiroid

    ReplyDelete
  10. I am very happy to be able to visit this website, continued success. greeting healthy Obat Penyakit Batuk Berdarah Tradisional

    ReplyDelete
  11. I am very happy to be able to visit this website Obat Nyeri Pinggang

    ReplyDelete
  12. This is a realy original player Obat Tradisional Sakit Ulu Hati deceided to play with them.

    ReplyDelete
  13. I am very happy to be able to visit this website,succesfull y

    ReplyDelete
  14. I am very happy to be able to visit this website,succesfull Obat TBC Tradisional

    ReplyDelete
  15. This list will serve as your own personal motivational Obat Penyakit Gula

    ReplyDelete
  16. The annual general meeting of ESN will be held this year Obat Maag Tradisional

    ReplyDelete
  17. The annual general meeting of ESN will be held this year Cara Mengatasi Anemia The first phase of co-optation I experienced in the anti-psychiatric abuse movement was in 1985. I was not a very active member or leader at that time, but I went to the annual "International Conference For Human Rights and Against Psychiatric Oppression" in 1985 and experienced the three-way division that left the North American movement, at least, in a weakened and demoralized state.

    ReplyDelete
  18. The annual general meeting of ESN will be held this year Obat Hipertiroid The first phase of co-optation I experienced in the anti-psychiatric abuse movement was in 1985. I was not a very active member or leader at that time, but I went to the annual "International Conference For Human Rights and Against Psychiatric Oppression" in 1985 and experienced Obat Hipertiroid the three-way division that left the North American movement, at least, in a weakened and demoralized state. This division may have also allowed NAMI, an organization of family.

    ReplyDelete
  19. We are planning an aggressive campaign to broaden our base and win over our the millions of young Obat Nyeri Pinggang folks who we believe after learning about us will fully support our mission. While common sense to most of us, Obat Nyeri Pinggang we think our 'enlightened' platform is the vehicle to achieve the potential we know for those who share our vision for a more competitive and economically viable country.

    ReplyDelete
  20. We are planning an aggressive campaign to broaden our base and win over our the millions of young Obat Penyakit Sinsusitis folks who we believe after learning about us will fully support our mission.

    ReplyDelete
  21. Innovations are underway to help Kenyan farmers mitigate and adapt to climate change. Cara Mengatasi Sakit Ulu Hati For instance the International Centre of Insect Avaya Practice Exams Question Answers Physiology and Ecology has (ICIPE) set up four modern automated cara Mengatasi Sakit Ulu Hati weather stations in Taita Taveta County-the first of its kind in Kenya - to monitor weather patterns

    ReplyDelete
  22. I can see that you are an expert at your field! I am launching a website soon, and your information will be very useful for me.. Thanks for all your help and wishing you all the success in your business .

    ReplyDelete
  23. Hey there, You've done a great job. I'll certainly digg it and personally recommend to myfriends. I'm confident they will be benefited from this website. Obat Batuk Berdarah

    ReplyDelete

Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone - Whilst I appreciate the thought, I simply don't have the time to pass them on.

Please feel free to leave a reply, I read and appreciate them all!

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...